My Trials in Food – Simple Spinach Salad & Blooey Smoothie

Hi everyone!

It is another beautiful scorching day here in Vancouver, and I decided to go grocery shopping today for a small pot luck I am hosting for my girlfriends tomorrow at my house. Luckily for me, D drove me to our local Safeway and helped me carry my bags of goodies back home. Thanks, boo! 🙂

Today, I made a simply yummy salad that is perfect for summer. I have a feeling I will be eating it quite often and it can definitely transition well into the colder months by adding some heartier veggies or even some grilled chicken!

Simple Baby Spinach Salad:

  • 2 servings of organic baby spinach (can be non-organic if you wish)
  • A handful of organic baby carrots (again, can be non-organic)
  • A handful of pine nuts
  • A handful of dried cranberries
  • As much greek feta cheese as you want
  • Salad dressing of your choice
A simple baby spinach salad I threw together that is perfect for summer!

I just quickly threw all of these ingredients into a bowl and tossed them together. For the dressing, I used a simple vinaigrette to lightly coat the salad and that was pretty much it. Next time, I think I might add in some roasted or baked chicken to give it some more weight, and toast the pine nuts in a pan before throwing them in. Otherwise, it is a pretty solid meal on its own, and I was full from eating it as a snack!

As I mentioned in my previous entry, I have been addicted (no seriously, I think I am going to need an intervention soon) to the magic bullet kept at home and have been using it 2-3 times a day. Today at Safeway, I grabbed some Vanilla Greek Yogurt and decided to add it into my smoothie and oohh man, is it ever good.

Paula’s Blooey Smoothie:

  • 1/3 cup of organic blueberries (again, you can use non-organic)
  • 1/4 cup of Vanilla greek yogurt 
  • A handful of baby carrots 
  • 1/2 banana 
  • 1/2 cup of milk (used skim milk for this)
  • 1/4 cup of ice
A yummy refreshing smoothie that is sure to tickle your taste buds!

I put all of these ingredients into my beloved magic bullet and let it do its magic. I was pleasantly surprised that blueberries weren’t overpowering the smoothie at all, considering it was the most used ingredient in this drink. It blended perfectly with the yogurt and the banana. So I can say once again that another smoothie turned out to be successful!

I am pretty excited to host my little potluck together with the girls – I haven’t seen them in almost two months! It will be nice catching up and just enjoying good food and good company. Hopefully they enjoy the treats I will be making them tomorrow. 🙂

Let me know if any of you try out these simple recipes and if you find them delicious and feel free to suggest other recipes in the comments below!

Love,
P

Leave a Reply

