My Trials in Food – Organic Spaghetti and Yummy Healthy Smoothie

Hello beautiful people!

This little series of blog entries will consist of my little blurbs here and there about my trials (good and bad) of food I have made myself, or with a little help from others. I am no Nigella Lawson, but I am very much interested in learning a few culinary skills that will hopefully help me out in the future! Besides, I need to feed myself and my future family somehow. 😛

Without further ado, here are the things I have made today at home! Enjoy and let me know what you guys think.

For a late lunch today, there was literally nothing for me to eat as is in the fridge, so I managed to put together a spaghetti dish that turned out quite well.

This is my home made organic spaghetti meal I threw together and my home made organic garlic bread my sister helped me out with.

When I was throwing this together, I was honestly just hoping for the best. I put in random things in my fridge and just kept tasting my sauce every once in a while, and surprisingly, this turned out to be a hit! I am definitely making it again. Here are the list of ingredients that I put together to make this yumm-o creation:

Random Spaghetti:

  • 1/2 pack of organic spaghetti (or any spaghetti you like)
  • 1/2 bag of Filipino UFC tomato sauce (this sauce is quite sweet and typical of Filipino spaghetti)
  • 1/2 an onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • some pieces of jarred cooked artichokes
  • 1 diced hotdog
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 teaspoon of white or brown sugar

I basically just put all of the ingredients sans the spaghetti into a pot and let that cook for 20-30 minutes. Then I just threw in the cooked spaghetti straight out of the pot and voila! Bon appetite.

Now my smoothie. Lately, I have been addicted to the magic bullet we keep at home and have been using it almost every day, whipping up yummy smoothies. Here, I have made a yummy and nutritious smoothie which I have named the Pooey Smoothie. Here are the ingredients:

Paula’s Pooey Smoothie:

  • banana
  • 4 ice cubes
  • a handful of organic baby spinach
  • a handful of baby carrots
  • a handful of organic blue berries
  • 1 cup of milk (I used skimmed milk for this)
I threw in together some yummy and nutritious fruits and veggies and it turned out quite well!

I threw in those ingredients into the magic bullet and turned that bad boy on. To be honest, I was kind of scared of the results, and was even more wary after seeing what colour the smoothie turned out to be. Even my father told me it looked like poo. 😛 But hey, even putting together nutritious things can taste delicious! Plus, this smoothie is a great way to get your recommended fresh and raw veggies and fruits into your diet.

I threw in together some yummy and nutritious fruits and veggies and it turned out quite well!

So my first day of putting together some healthy things to eat turned out to be quite a success. I give myself a pat on the back and now have more faith in myself that I can cook for my future family and won’t have them starved, haha.

If you guys try out my random recipes, please let me know what you think of them! Again, I think I was just really lucky and the culinary gods decided to lend me some skills for today. Hopefully they will be even more generous and aid me in my future endeavours in the complicated area of cuisine. Wish me luck!

Happy cooking!
P

One thought on “My Trials in Food – Organic Spaghetti and Yummy Healthy Smoothie

Leave a Reply

