Life in the Motherland – Manila/Makati

After nearly a month in the Philippines, I am now very unhappy to update that my family and I will be on our way home to Vancouver. We just spent a few days in Makati, where our hotel was and wow, I couldn’t believe how highly populated and how busy it was. The traffic here in Manila is insane and I give major kudos to those brave drivers who have to put up with hours of driving here!

Here in the capital of the Philippines, all my family did was shop, see some sights, go through very long drives and eat out. As much as I enjoyed the cheap shopping sprees, I would rather not put up with the exhausting and heavy commutes every day. Now, I appreciate the traffic better in Vancouver and promise not to complain too much about. 😉

The shopping districts here are very busy and travellers should be wary of theft which occurs quite often. Luckily, none of my family and I had anything taken from us. Vacationers will also have to put up with the heavy rains that literally flood the streets and have travellers knee to waist deep in water.

As much as I enjoyed the shopping sprees, I prefer the more laid back atmosphere that Aklan had. I will definitely miss my family here so much and I’m glad I got to spend some time with them, since it isn’t often that we get to come back here.

On my next entry, I will be posting up some of my favourite pictures from the trip. I hope you enjoy them!

Thanks to those who have liked my posts recently, I am very much flattered. I hope you are all enjoying yourselves and are safe and well. 🙂 Oh, and please pray for a safe flight for my family and I! I’m quite the paranoid person when it comes to flying (the result of watching way too many shows about airplane crashes…)

Saddened to leave the Motherland and filled with a lot of family love,
P

2 thoughts on “Life in the Motherland – Manila/Makati

  1. I dont know what to say. This blog is fantastic. Thats not really a really huge statement, but its all I could come up with after reading this. You know so much about this subject. So much so that you made me want to learn more about it. Your blog is my stepping stone, my friend. Thanks for the heads up on this subject.

Leave a Reply

