Au revoir teens, bonjour twenties!

Wow, in just under an hour, I will be leaving my teenage chapters behind and embarking on a new adventure into my twenties. Looking back on my teenage years, I realize with some embarrassment how melodramatic and unnecessarily complicated they were. From the catty high school drama, to the unwanted pimples, the lecturing/nagging of my parents and family, to the late night cram sessions, to the crushing break ups, to organizing a school wide clothing drive that donated 2000 pounds of clothes to a local shelter, to organizing my prom, and to finally walking the stage as a high school and Associates of Arts degree graduate, my teenage years were certainly memorable. Despite all that, I can say that I did thoroughly enjoy my years as a teenager, and I bid it a bittersweet adieu.

Finally entering my twenties, I feel pretty darn excited to start. Twenty seems to bring with it a feeling of anticipation, of mysterious journeys, and as well, a slight tingling of hesitation. No longer am I considered a “teen” as I am now closing that chapter in my life. To be honest, I am pretty tired of being nineteen since it seemed to carry with it so many responsibilities that I wasn’t aware of until half way through it. However, I can’t say that I resent my last year of being a teenager. It gave me many lessons and experiences that shaped me into the overly complicated and passionate gal that I am now.

For some reason, I have been looking forward to turning twenty for a while now and for the longest time, I could not figure out why. That wasn’t until after today, when I went to my high school’s commencement ceremony for the Graduates of 2012. Being there brought back so many memories of my own high school graduation and made me realize how long I have been waiting to finally take a step out of my comfort zone and into the real world. Now, being twenty, I am beginning to feel like I finally can.

In the next decade, I want to be able to say I have explored much of the globe, to have obtained a degree, to have finished school with little to no debt, to have found a stable job that supports my family, to have married the love of my life, to have grown in deeper faith and love with God, and ultimately, be truly happy with where I am in life.

There are so many things I want to accomplish for myself in the next few years and I absolutely cannot wait to achieve them. Hopefully during the next couple of years, I will grow to be a better person not only for myself, but for others, and most importantly, God. 

I hope you are all having a fantastic June! And to those who are celebrating June birthdays with me – Happy Birthday! Go knock back a few drinks and have a blast. 

– P

Leave a Reply

