Wanderlust

Travelling has always been something I enjoyed, even though I normally do not fare too well with travelling with my family for more than a week. This is mainly because I like having some time away from them and by half-way through our family trips, I am about ready to pull my hair out in frustration and make a trip back home on my own.

However, I do enjoy the fact that my family organizes annual trips during the summer so we can explore different places. Now that I am nearing the end of my teenage years, (turning 20 in exactly 29 days – yay!) the desire to travel to places I have yet to explore is really driving me insane with desire to book the next flight to some beautiful foreign place and spend some time there. Of course, being a nearly broke university student and only working part-time, my bank account simply cannot afford to travel to wherever my heart desires.

That is why I have been trying very hard to save up in the recent months so I could have enough to go somewhere. Of course, convincing my parents to trust me enough to go somewhere without them will be a big challenge, but I have been desperately wanting to take a first real step into the life of an adult and going off to a distant land without them. For me, I think I will personally be more appreciative of my family if they let me take the big step of travelling without them for once. Hopefully, they will let me do this in the near future!

Familial concerns aside, I would definitely love to travel somewhere with a rich history and stunning sights. For me, I am more of the learning and exploring type of traveller. When I go to foreign places, I love learning the history and stories behind what make it so beautiful and alluring. What I love most about coming home from a trip is looking through my photos that I have taken and reliving the memories I have created and knowing the significance of every picture and what stories or facts I learned about a certain monument, sight, etc.

Now that summer is nearing, I am beginning to let my mind wander more to the thoughts of exploring new places and seeing the beauties this world has to offer. I guess I should take this time to tell you all of my top 5 favourite places that I need to visit within the next decade! It was hard narrowing it down, but I think this list is pretty solid.

santorini-sunset1

1. Beautiful Santorini

After reading the Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants series, I have been convinced that Santorini, Greece is my top destination to travel to. I even have it as one of my options of where to honeymoon! It just seems like a place that is so bright and wonderful, and I have always been interested in the Greek culture growing up. Ahh, thinking about it makes me want to book the next flight to there, so I will move on, haha. 🙂

Flourishing Florence

2. Flourishing Florence

Italy is a country many people would like to travel to, but Florence in particular has caught my eye. It just seems so simplistic and rustic, and full of wonderful architecture that I would just love to take pictures of. My boyfriend also used to live there as a child, and often tells me stories of how beautiful it was.

Under-rated Prague

3. Under-rated Prague

Prague is one of those places that many don’t seem to think about visiting when in Europe. A good friend of mine who happens to be a seasoned traveller just went there last summer, and she said she loved it and it definitely was a top destination to see. I wish I knew more about it, but hopefully, I will be able to spend a week there and just enjoy the atmosphere.

Mysterious Egypt

4. Mysterious Egypt

Growing up, I always had a fascination with Egypt and the typical stories we hear about Pharaohs, Sphinxes, and the incredible pyramids that were built so long ago. There is just something so sultry and sexy about Egypt that makes me want to explore it so badly. Who knows, perhaps I might stumble upon a zombie mummy! Actually, when I think about it, I would rather not….

La Belle Paris

5. Paris

I know, I know. Clichéd ending to my top 5 destinations. But come on, Paris is definitely a place almost everybody wants to travel to before they die. For me, the French culture holds a special place in my heart. I have always loved the culture and the language, and I just find it simply romantic. Ever since I was a little girl, I have always dreamed about travelling there and just walking to La Tour d’Eiffel, or L’Arc de Triomphe. Something about it is just so magical and I honestly am so looking forward to booking a flight there. It will most likely be one of the best experiences in my life.

So that concludes my top 5 places. It was very hard narrowing it down just to 5, but I think those 5 are quite incredible. There are so many places I would love to travel to and have never even considered, but I do hope that in the near future, my life will allow it! For now, I will stick to saving up and being wise about my money. It definitely will pay off when I finally have those tickets in my hands. 🙂

I hope you are all enjoying your month of May – I can’t believe it has flown by so quickly! I am very much looking forward to June and the rest of my summer and I hope you are all doing the same.

– P

One thought on “Wanderlust

  1. This is an amazing post that I love to come back and re-read from time to time! It inspires me a lot too. The places you want to go to are amazing and I think you would gain a lot from each of those places that you visit. I hope you can visit them all some time in the future 🙂

Leave a Reply

